Earth Day: Something to Think About

eday5

Today is Earth day. Since 1990 more than 200 million people participate in environmental activities in more than 141 countries  This year over a billion people in 192 countries are expected to participate. The holiday has contributed to the passage of the Clean Water, Clean air and Endangered Species Acts.

In Genesis 1:28, God tells Adam and Eve, “Rule over the fish in the sea and the birds in the sky and over every living creature that moves on the ground.”

From the beginning of time, according to Genesis, we have been made responsible for the world that we live in. We should remember that this includes all life.

And yet we do not protect it.

I think about the overly-dramatic commercials I see at lunch time to help the abused animals. “These are the innocent ones” the commercial says. I watch that video and I think about the hundreds of thousands of woman and children abused daily in our country, let alone the world. What are we doing about them?

By the way… search “animal abuse” and there are over 121,000,000 results on Google. “domestic abuse” brings up 95,800,000

I think about how we are urged to adopt animals off the streets. What about the thousands of children in foster care or orphanages?

I think about the millions of babies that are aborted and the thousands of children left to die as a result of botched abortions.

And a commercial about the innocent puppy with one eye is supposed to move my heart and get me to phone in my pledge of $60 a month? Where are our priorities?

